The Best kept secret in Central Pennsylvania Golf
On September 9, 1908, the Sanderson property along Fishing Creek was purchased and Clinton Country Club was born. At the time the Express reporter was so impressed by Clinton Country Club that it went on record with its course’s praise, stating “It was as if the fairy wand of magic had touched the picturesque banks of the Bald Eagle and its singing sister, Fishing Creek.”
The original recreation areas (where the present practice green and golf cart sheds stand today) included tennis and croquet courts. A boathouse, which held 40 boats, was also built along Bald Eagle Creek allowing for many years of swimming and boating. In 1920, a new 9 hole golf course was laid out by the well-known Architect, Alexander H. Finlay, the “Father of American Golf”. (www.alexanderfindlay.com)
Mr. Findlay also designed nearby golf courses; Phillipsburg Country Club (presently known as Philipsburg Elks Lodge and Country Club) and Centre Hills Country Club. In later years, additional land was purchased from Dr. Joseph Magre to add an additional 9 holes. Internationally known golf architects, the Ault, Clark & Associates (www.acagolf.com), originally known as the Edmund Ault Ltd. was hired. Edmund Ault Ltd. also designed nearby golf courses; Iron Masters Country Club, Toftrees Golf Resort and Conference Center and Lewistown Country Club.